Committees

USW Local 3657 has a number of standing committees mandated by the USW constitution and several other committees that have been created by the membership over the years. Generally, committee membership is open to anyone who is interested, and committees meet regularly in the building.  All committee meetings are accessible via teleconference and/or live stream so you can participate in these committees whether you work at headquarters or in one of the field offices.

CAT (Communications Action Team)

CAT is responsible for facilitating two-way communication between all of the members of our local union and our local union’s executive board.  If you want to join CAT or if you feel like you’re not getting information that you need, contact our CAT Coordinator, Joe Meszar.

Joe Meszar Information Systems jmeszar@usw.org 412-562-2509

Civil and Human Rights

9185192686_a3c2187db0_z

The Civil and Human Rights Committee is one of the standing committees of the local union.  They are working to facilitate trainings and other educational activities on harassment and on diversity in the workplace.  They are also available to help 3657 members raise and address civil and human rights issues in our workplace.

To get involved or to bring forward a complaint contact the Civil and Human Rights Committee Chair Doug Ward:

Doug Ward  Education dward@usw.org 412-562-2563

Fundraising and Recreation

DSC_0465

The Fundraising and Recreation Committee organizes the annual USW Local 3657 Holiday Party at the headquarters and other social events for the local union throughout the year. The committee also organizes periodic fundraisers and bucket drops to raise money for striking locals and other important causes. To get involved in the Fundraising and Recreation Committee or to suggest a fundraiser or social event we should be organizing around, contact Barb Pugliese:

Barb Pugliese Accounting pbugliese@usw.org 412-562-2358

Grievance Committee

The USW Local 3657 Grievance Committee is responsible for administering our collective bargaining agreement, processing grievances and answering questions about the contract. If you have a grievance, concern or complaint or a question about our contract, contact one of the members of the Grievance Committee.

Carolyn Stokes (Chair) Political cstokes@usw.org 412-562-2371
Jenny VanSchyndel District 2 jvanschyndel@usw.org 920-722-7630
Joan Hill Education johill@usw.org 412-562-4348
Leslie Blasko District 10 lblasko@usw.org 814-535-7621
John Lepley Education jlepley@usw.org 412-562-2603

Health, Safety and Environment

The Health, Safety and Environment Committee is responsible for investigating and addressing hazards and health and safety issues in our workplace.  To report a Health and Safety issue contact Julie Lidstone.

Julie Lidstone Collective Bargaining jlidstone@usw.org 412-562-2288

New Member

The New Member Committee greets every new member who is hired into our local union.  The committee also facilitates the union portion of the semi-annual New Employee Orientation.  To get involved in the new member committee or to let us know about a new face in your department, contact R.J. Hufnagel.

R.J. Hufnagel Communications rhufnagel@usw.org 412-562-2450

Next Generation 

The Next Generation Committee (Next Gen) is the local’s newest committee, established in 2019. Next Gen is a program to inspire and educate younger and newer members of the local and to prepare them to take on leadership roles in our union. If you would like to get involved in the Next Gen Committee, contact R.J. Hufnagel.

Mollie Relihan New Media mrelihan@usw.org 412-562-4345

Organizing

To get involved in the Local’s Organizing Committee, contact Jeff Cech.

Jeff Cech Organizing jcech@usw.org 412-562-2471

PAC

The Political Action Committee is responsible for signing Local 3657 members up to make voluntary contributions to the USW’s Political Action Committee Fund.  The get involved in the PAC Committee, contact Carolyn Stokes.

Carolyn Stokes Political cstokes@usw.org 412-562-2371

Rapid Response

The Rapid Response Committee mobilizes around issues that matter to working families.  The committee circulates Rapid Response Alerts from the International Union and organizes 3657 members to take action in response to those alerts.  To get involved in the Rapid Response Committee contact Carol Gehm.

Carol Gehm Legal cgehm@usw.org 412-562-2346

Website & E-mail

Because the members of USW Local 3657 are scattered across the entire country, we rely heavily on our website, e-mail and social media for communicating with each other and sharing information.  Our website, e-mail, Slack and conference call systems are managed by a team of Local 3657 activists.  If you are having trouble accessing the livestream or website or if you have some content that you would like added to our website, contact a member of our web team:

Chelsey Engel Communications cengel@usw.org 412-562-2281
R.J. Hufnagel Communications rhufnagel@usw.org 412-562-2450
Joe Meszar Information Systems jmeszar@usw.org 412-562-2509

Women of Steel

DSC_0242

Local 3657 has one of the largest and strongest Women of Steel committees in the entire International Union. They host and organize teach-ins as well as rallies and other events to raise awareness about not only women’s issues, but all social justice issues. To get involved in the Women of Steel Committee, contact Rachel Nunes.

Rachel Nunes Strategic Campaigns rnunes@usw.org 412-562-2382

1 thought on “Committees

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s